The Countries and Capital Cities in Oceania: World Geography

The countries and capital cities in Oceania include Australia – Canberra, New Zealand – Wellington, Fiji – Suva, Samoa – Apia and The Solomon Islands – Honiara.

Are you looking for the names of all the major island countries and capital cities in Oceania? Then you’re in the right place.

This post will give you some key facts about Oceania including the capital cities of the countries and territories in that region of the world.

Let’s begin with the obvious first question. What is Oceania on the world map?

The Meaning and Location of Oceania

Oceania is a region in the South Pacific Ocean, and it comprises thousands of islands and countries. According to, Oceania is traditionally divided into four subregions namely Australasia, Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.

The biggest subregion of Oceania is Australasia covering an area of about 7,945,610 square kilometers and the smallest subregion is Micronesia with a total area of 3,170 square kilometers.

The size of Melanesia, the second largest subregion of Oceania, is approximately 529,590 square kilometers while that of Polynesia, the third largest is 8,090 square kilometers.

The Regions of Oceania

Find below, the composition of each of the four major regions of Oceania.

Composition of Australasia

Australasia is a subregion in Oceania and made up of Australia and New Zealand.

36 Top Universities for Media Studies in the World

Composition of Melanesia

Another key subregion of Oceania is Melanesia.

Melanesia includes countries such as Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu.

Composition of Micronesia

Oceania also has a subregion called Micronesia.

Micronesia includes countries like the Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, and the Marshall Islands.

Composition of Polynesia

Polynesia is another subregion of Oceania and includes nations such as Samoa, Tonga, and French Polynesia.

Is Oceania a continent?

Yes. According to National Geographic, Oceania is the smallest continent in the world.

In all, there are seven continents in the world. The other six continents in the world that are much bigger than Oceania are Asia which is the largest of all, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica and Europe.

The Countries and Territories in Oceania

You will now have the list of key countries, territories and collectivities which all come together to form the continent of Oceania.

Bear in mind that this list includes independent countries as well as some dependent territories and collectivities.

Also, the composition of Oceania may vary depending on the classification used.

Here are the countries and territories in Oceania.




Marshall Islands

Micronesia (Federated States of)


New Zealand


Papua New Guinea


Solomon Islands




The Overseas Territories of France

It is important for you to note that other places in the Pacific such as French Polynesia, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna are overseas territories and collectivities of France.

These overseas territories of France are often considered part of Oceania.

Finally, let’s have a look at the capitals in Oceania.

The Resurrection of Jesus According to Matthew’s Gospel

Luke’s Account of the Resurrection of Jesus

The Resurrection of Jesus According to Mark’s Gospel

Capital Cities in Oceania.

There are some interesting points to note about the capital cities of the various countries in Oceania.

Some countries in Oceania have multiple official capital cities or administrative centers.

These capitals in Oceania vary in their level of government functions.

Additionally, some territories and dependent areas in Oceania have their own capitals.

 This is the list of the capital cities of some of the countries in Oceania.

Canberra – Capital of Australia

Suva – Capital of Fiji

South Tarawa – Capital of Kiribati

Majuro – Capital of the Marshall Islands

Palikir – Capital of the Federated States of Micronesia

Yaren – De facto capital of Nauru

Wellington – Capital of New Zealand

Ngerulmud – Capital of Palau

Port Moresby – Capital of Papua New Guinea

Apia – Capital of Samoa

Honiara – Capital of the Solomon Islands

Nuku’alofa – Capital of Tonga

Funafuti – Capital of Tuvalu

Port Vila – Capital of Vanuatu

Papeete – The largest city in French Polynesia, though not an official capital.

Final Thoughts

So there you have it. Remember that Oceania is a region in the Pacific which consists of both big and very small island countries and territories. Notable among them are Australia, New Zealand, Vanuatu and Tonga.

What other interesting facts about the world would you like to know? Please leave your question in the comment section below.

Did you find this information helpful? Then share it on your favourite social media platform for the benefit of others you care about. Thank you!

Website | + posts

Ralph Nyadzi is the Director of Studies at Cegast Academy. He is a qualified English tutor with decades of experience behind him. Since 2001, he has successfully coached thousands of High School General Arts WASSCE candidates in English, Literature and related subjects. He combines his expertise with a passion for lifelong learning to guide learners from varying backgrounds to achieve their educational goals. Ralph shares lessons from his blogging journey on BloggingtotheMax. He lives with River, his pet cat, in the Central Region of Ghana.

Get Exclusive Updates & Offers

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top