The Complete Booker Prize Winners List (1968-2023)

This Booker Prize winners list contains books by famous writers like P.H. Newby, Nadine Gordimer, V.S. Naipaul, William Golding, Margaret Atwood and Douglas Stuart.

In this post, therefore, you will find titles of acclaimed Booker Prize winners such as ”G” by John Berger (1972), ”Offshore” by Penelope Fitzgerald (1979), “True History of the Kelly Gang” by Peter Carey (2001) and “Life of Pi” by Yann Martel (2002).

So if you are looking for the list containing all the Booker Prize winners then keep reading.

We will start with the meaning and history of the Booker Prize.

What is the Booker Prize?

The Booker Prize is also known as the Man Booker Prize. It is one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world.

This award was established in 1968 and is awarded annually to the best original novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom.

The Objective of the Booker Prize

The Booker Prize aims to promote and recognize outstanding literary fiction. Thus, it has been instrumental in bringing attention to exceptional works and authors from different corners of the world.

At its inception, the award was open only to authors from the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, Ireland, and Zimbabwe. But in 2014, the rules changed to accommodate writers from other nationalities.

From 2014 onward, the administrators of the Booker Prize allowed any novel written in English and published in the UK to be eligible, regardless of the author’s nationality.

Impact of the Booker Prize

The Booker Prize has played a significant role in the literary world over the years. Indeed, winning the award can substantially boost an author’s reputation and book sales.

Many Booker Prize-winning novels have gone on to become bestsellers and have received critical acclaim worldwide.

Change of Name

Before 2019, the award was known as the ‘Man Booker Prize’. The reason for this was the sponsorship of the investment management company known as Man Group. Then in that year, sponsorship for the Man Booker Prize changed. As a result, it was renamed the “Booker Prize.”

35 Narrative Techniques in Literature with Examples

Romantic Poetry: A Slumber Did My Spirit Seal by William Wordsworth

Metaphysical Poetry: The Sun Rising by John Donne

Top 22 Elements of Poetry You Need to Know

The First Winner of the Booker Prize

The first Booker Prize was awarded in 1969. The inaugural winner of the Booker Prize was “Something to Answer For” by P.H. Newby.

Since then, the award has been presented every year to honour exceptional literary works and authors from different parts of the world.

The Booker Prize Winners List

Here now comes the list of Booker Prize winners since 1969.

1969 – 1999

1969 – “Something to Answer For” by P.H. Newby

1970 – “The Elected Member” by Bernice Rubens

1970 – “The Conservationist” by Nadine Gordimer

1971 – “In a Free State” by V.S. Naipaul

1972 – “G.” by John Berger

1973 – “The Siege of Krishnapur” by J.G. Farrell

1974 – “The Conservationist” by Nadine Gordimer (shared with 1970 winner)

1974 – “Holiday” by Stanley Middleton

1975 – “Heat and Dust” by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1976 – “Saville” by David Storey

1977 – “Staying On” by Paul Scott

1978 – “The Sea, the Sea” by Iris Murdoch

1979 – “Offshore” by Penelope Fitzgerald

1980 – “Rites of Passage” by William Golding

1981 – “Midnight’s Children” by Salman Rushdie

1982 – “Schindler’s Ark” by Thomas Keneally

1983 – “Life & Times of Michael K” by J.M. Coetzee

1984 – “Hotel du Lac” by Anita Brookner

1985 – “The Bone People” by Keri Hulme

1986 – “The Old Devils” by Kingsley Amis

1987 – “Moon Tiger” by Penelope Lively

1988 – “Oscar and Lucinda” by Peter Carey

1989 – “The Remains of the Day” by Kazuo Ishiguro

1990 – “Possession” by A.S. Byatt

1991 – “The Famished Road” by Ben Okri

1992 – “The English Patient” by Michael Ondaatje

1993 – “Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha” by Roddy Doyle

1994 – “How Late It Was, How Late” by James Kelman

1995 – “The Ghost Road” by Pat Barker

1996 – “Last Orders” by Graham Swift

1997 – “The God of Small Things” by Arundhati Roy

1998 – “Amsterdam” by Ian McEwan

1999 – “Disgrace” by J.M. Coetzee

2000 – 2023 …

2000 – “The Blind Assassin” by Margaret Atwood

2001 – “True History of the Kelly Gang” by Peter Carey

2002 – “Life of Pi” by Yann Martel

2003 – “Vernon God Little” by DBC Pierre

2004 – “The Line of Beauty” by Alan Hollinghurst

2005 – “The Sea” by John Banville

2006 – “The Inheritance of Loss” by Kiran Desai

2007 – “The Gathering” by Anne Enright

2008 – “The White Tiger” by Aravind Adiga

2009 – “Wolf Hall” by Hilary Mantel

2010 – “The Finkler Question” by Howard Jacobson

2011 – “The Sense of an Ending” by Julian Barnes

2012 – “Bring Up the Bodies” by Hilary Mantel

2013 – “The Luminaries” by Eleanor Catton

2014 – “The Narrow Road to the Deep North” by Richard Flanagan

2015 – “A Brief History of Seven Killings” by Marlon James

2016 – “The Sellout” by Paul Beatty

2017 – “Lincoln in the Bardo” by George Saunders

2018 – “Milkman” by Anna Burns

2019 – “The Testaments” by Margaret Atwood

2019 – “Girl, Woman, Other” by Bernardine Evaristo (joint winners)

2020 – “Shuggie Bain” by Douglas Stuart

2021 – ”The Promise” by Damon Galgut

2022 – ”The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida” by Shehan Karunatilaka

The Longlist for The Booker Prize 2023

Final Thoughts

Now you have the complete Booker Prize winners list from its inception in 1968 to date.

You might also like to check out the winners of other prestigious literary awards such as the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the Nobel Prize in Literature.

And don’t forget to read these interesting posts about the best personal finance books at Cegast Academy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get Dependable High School General Arts Textbooks

Scroll to Top