You cannot copy content of this page

The Membership of the United Gold Coast Convention, UGCC

Reading Time: 1 minute

DISCLOSURE: This post contains affiliate links.

Click here to read the full statement of our affiliate disclaimer.

You can now easily answer a question on the composition of the leadership of the United Gold Coast Convention, the first ever political party to be formed in Ghana.

Date and place of the formation of the UGCC

The United Gold Coast Convention (U.G.C.C.) was inaugurated at Saltpond on 4th August, 1947.

Leading members of the UGCC

Leading members of the United Gold Coast Convention were mostly members of the upper elite class of lawyers, intellectuals and businessmen.

They included:

  • George Grant or Pa Grant (chairman),
  • J.B. Danquah, founder of the Gold Coast Youth Conference,
  • R.S. Blay (vice – chairmen)
  • R.A. Awoonor-Williams (treasurer).

Other leading members were

  • Edward A. Akuffo-Addo,
  • J.W. de Graft Johnson,
  • Obetsebi Lamptey,
  • Kobina Kessie and
  • John Tsiboe.

Thank you.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Sign up to receive the best of WASSCE study guides &smart skills tips that matter to you.

Invalid email address
We promise not to spam you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Say Something About This

ENJOY FREE MEMBERSHIP UPGRADE! Simply register as a Free Approved Member before 31st October, 2019 LEARN MORE
%d bloggers like this: